The Rosary

The Rosary is a scripture based prayer that recalls important events or mysteries in the life of Jesus Christ.  During the prayer we are calling upon Mary to help us to better understand the life of her Son.  We also pray the Rosary to honor and unite ourselves with Jesus and Mary, and to give praise to our Triune God. svxs2de5g70wjlq84i2yu5bwcfl.jpg

The beads of the Rosary are divided into five decades and each decade represents an event (or mystery) from the life of Jesus Christ. These five events are grouped into a set of Mysteries.  It is recommended that we pray the Rosary every day, and so, each day of the week is assigned a set of mysteries to pray for that day. Pope Saint John Paul II recommended that we pray the Joyful mysteries on Monday and Saturday, the Luminous on Thursday, the Sorrowful on Tuesday and Friday, and the Glorious on Wednesday and Sunday.

Ascension Rosary Schedule:

Monday - Saturday
7:30 AM in the Main Church before 8 AM Mass

Monday at 6:00 PM in the Little Church

Rosary in Spanish is on Mondays at 7 PM in the Little Church.
Rosario en español los lunes a las 7 PM en la pequeña iglesia.

How to Pray the Rosary


If you would like to learn how to pray the Rosary, you can access a printable guide above (Praying the Rosary).  Sometimes it is easier to learn how to pray by praying with someone.  The videos below are the four sets of Mysteries prayed by Archbishop Carlson and some of the Seminarians at the Rigali Center here in the Archdiocese of St. Louis.

The Joyful Mysteries (Mondays and Saturdays) 


The Luminous Mysteries (Thursdays)

The Sorrowful Mysteries (Tuesdays and Fridays)

The Glorious Mysteries (Wednesdays and Sundays)